County of Monterey

Salinas City Hall - West Wing Conference Room 200 Lincoln Avenue Salinas, CA 93901 Cities please post at your location



Meeting Minutes - Final

Friday, May 7, 2021 12:00 PM

City Selection Committee

Chair Mayor Anna M. Velazquez (Soledad) Vice-Chair Mayor Alison Kerr (Del Rey Oaks) Mayor Clyde Roberson (Monterey) Mayor Kimbley Craig (Salinas) Mayor Bruce Delgado (Marina) Mayor Lance Walker (Greenfield) Mayor Mike LeBarre (City of King)

Mayor Jose L. Rios (Gonzales) Mayor lan Oglesby (Seaside) Mayor Dave Potter (Carmel) Mayor Bill Peake (Pacific Grove) Mayor Mary Ann Carbone (Sand City)

Called to Order

The meeting was called to order by Chair Mayor Anna M. Velasquez.

Roll Called

Present: 12 - Mayor Lance Walker (Greenfield), Mayor Ian Oglesby (Seaside), Mayor Kimbley Craig (Salinas), Mayor Alison Kerr (Del Rey Oaks), Mayor Anna M. Velazquez (Soledad), Mayor Clyde Roberson (Monterey), Mayor Dave Potter (Carmel), Mayor Bill Peake (Pacific Grove), Mayor Mary Ann Carbone (Sand City), Bruce Delgado (Marina), Mayor Mike Lebarre (King City) and Mayor Jose L. Rios (Gonzales) who all appeared via video conference.

Staff Present

Charles McKee, County Administrative Officer, via Zoom, Valerie Ralph, Clerk of the Board and Casandra Quintero, temporary Board Clerk who appeared in person.

Additions and Corrections

There were no additions and corrections to the agenda.

General Public Comments

Open for general public comments for items not on the agenda; no public comments made.

Committee Matters:

1.

Minutes: Review and approve the meeting Minutes of January 8, 2021.

Open for public comments; no public comments made.

A motion was made by Mayor Alison Kerr, seconded by Mayor Dave Potter to: Approve the meeting minutes of January 8, 2021.

AYES: Mayor Walker, Mayor Oglesby, Mayor Craig, Mayor Kerr, Mayor Velazquez, Mayor Roberson, Mayor Peake, Mayor Carbone, Mayor LeBarre, Mayor Delgado, Mayor Rios and Mayor

Potter NOES: None ABSENT: None ABSTAIN: None

2. Consider an automatic rotation of appointments for committees that serve at the Pleasure of the City Selection Committee.

Open for public comments; no public comments made.

Discussions had by the City Selection Committee; matter to be brought back to the next City Selection Committee in a specific manner such as policy that can be voted on.

Appointments:

3. Monterey County Airport Land Use Commission:

a. Appoint One (1) city representative to the subject Commission for a term ending May 6, 2025.

Mayor MaryAnn Carbone appointed May 5, 2017; Sand City (Expired May 3, 2021)

VOTE BY THE FOLLOWING CITIES (All):

Salinas Greenfield
Seaside King City
Marina Soledad
Del Rey Oaks Gonzales
Sand City Carmel
Monterey Pacific Grove

Wonterey 1 define Grove

The City Selection Committee appoints representatives of the airports within the County, comprised of the managers of all of the public airports within that County, however; one such representative shall be appointed from an airport operated for the benefit of the general public.

Open for public comments; no public comments made.

A motion was made by Mayor Clyde Roberson, seconded by Mayor Dave Potter to: a. Appoint Mayor Mary Ann Carbone to the Monterey County Airport Land Use Commission for a term ending May 6, 2025.

AYES: Mayor Walker, Mayor Oglesby, Mayor Craig, Mayor Kerr, Mayor Velazquez, Mayor Roberson, Mayor Peake, Mayor Carbone, Mayor LeBarre, Mayor Delgado, Mayor Rios and Mayor Potter

NOES: None ABSENT: None ABSTAIN: None

4. Local Agency Formation Commission:

a. Appoint One (1) mayor or council member to the subject Commission to a term ending May 6, 2025.

Mayor Ian Oglesby appointed January 4, 2019; Seaside (Expired May 1, 2021)

VOTE BY THE FOLLOWING CITIES (All):

Salinas Greenfield
Seaside King City
Marina Soledad
Del Rey Oaks Gonzales

Sand City Carmel

Monterey Pacific Grove

The City Selection Committee is encouraged to select members to fairly represent the diversity of the cities in the County, with respect to population and geography.

Open for public comments; no public comments made.

A motion was made by Mayor Clyde Roberson, seconded by Mayor Alison Kerr to: a. Appoint Mayor Ian Oglesby (primary member) to the Local Agency Formation Commission with a term ending May 6, 2025

AYES: Mayor Walker, Mayor Oglesby, Mayor Craig, Mayor Kerr, Mayor Velazquez, Mayor Roberson, Mayor Peake, Mayor Carbone, Mayor LeBarre, Mayor Delgado, Mayor Rios and Mayor

Potter NOES: None ABSENT: None ABSTAIN: None

Review of Appointment Roster

5. City Selection Committee - Appointment Roster as of January 8, 2021

Open for public comment; no comments made.

Reviewed by the City Selection Committee with no comments made.

Adjourned

The meeting was adjourned at 12:26 p.m. by Chair Anna M. Velazquez.