# LAFCO of Monterey County

### LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION OF MONTEREY COUNTY

2022 Commissioners December 7, 2022

Chair Mary Ann Leffel Special District Member

> Vice Chair Matt Gourley Public Member

Luis Alejo County Member

Wendy Root Askew County Member, Alternate

> Kimbley Craig City Member

David Kong Special District Member, Alternate

> Christopher Lopez County Member

> > lan Oglesby City Member

Warren Poitras Special District Member

Steve Snodgrass Public Member, Alternate

Anna Velazquez City Member, Alternate

#### Counsel

Kelly L. Donlon General Counsel

#### **Executive Officer**

#### Kate McKenna, AICP

132 W. Gabilan Street, #102 Salinas, CA 93901

> P. O. Box 1369 Salinas, CA 93902

Voice: 831-754-5838

www.monterey.lafco.ca.gov

Mayors City Selection Committee c/o Ms. Valerie Ralph Clerk of the Board, County of Monterey 168 W. Alisal Street, 1st Floor Salinas, CA 93901

Subject: City Selection Committee Appointment Roster Update and Request for Appointment to LAFCO City Member (Regular) Position, Expires May 2023

Dear Ms. Ralph,

Thank you for coordinating with LAFCO in the 2023 annual review and appointment process of the City Selection Committee. I am writing with two requests.

#### Appointment Roster Updates

Please update the Appointment Roster to reflect the following term expiration dates for the City positions on LAFCO:

Regular City Member (Mayor Kimbley Craig) – expires May 1, 2023 Regular City Member (Mayor Ian Oglesby) – expires May 5, 2025 Alternate City Member (Mayor Anna Velazquez) – expires May 6, 2024

These changes will align the Roster term expiration dates with LAFCO's term expiration dates that are set by law. The Cortese Knox Hertzberg Act ties terms and expiration dates to the City Member positions, and not to the dates of appointments made by the City Selection Committee. Each position term is four years and expires on the first Monday in May in the fourth year. If there is an unexpected vacancy during the term of a position, the newly appointed representative will serve for the remainder of that term. Mayor Craig was appointed in 2020 to fill the remainder of the four-year term of a position that will expire in 2023. Mayor Oglesby was re-appointed in 2021 to the four-year term of a position that will expire in 2025. Mayor Velazquez was appointed in 2020 to fill the remainder of a position that will expire in 2024. By aligning the County records with LAFCO records, we can clear up the confusion about term expiration dates.

## Request for Appointment to LAFCO City Member (Regular) Position that Expires in May 2023

Pursuant to Government Code Sections 56325 (b) and 56335, please request that the City Selection Committee appoint a representative to fill the City Member (Regular) position on LAFCO that will expire in May 2023. This position is currently filled by Mayor Craig. The City Selection Committee is encouraged to

select members to fairly represent the diversity of the cities in the county, with respect to population and geography. The City Member (Regular) representative to be appointed or re-appointed will serve on a LAFCO position that ends on May 3, 2027. (This will become the new term expiration date for the Appointment Roster.) The representative will be sworn in and seated at the Commission's regular meeting in April or May 2023.

Again, we thank you for your assistance in the selection of City Member commissioners. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

1 ckenna

Kate McKenna, AICP Executive Officer

cc: Mayor Kimbley Craig, City of Salinas Mayor Ian Oglesby, City of Seaside Mayor Anna Velazquez, City of Soledad