Equal Opportunity and Civil Rights Advisory Commission Action Minutes of November 18, 2020

1. <u>Roll Call and Greeting of Visitors</u>

The meeting was called to order at 3:32 p.m. by Chairperson Ybarra.

<u>Commissioners Present:</u> Dionne Ybarra, Anita Crawley, Carl Holm, Justin Matthews, Andrea Monroe, Henry Gonzales, Mary Claypool, and Christopher Barrera

Commissioners Absent: Michael Fritsche, Valerie Bigham, James Bogan, and Harry Gamotan

<u>Staff Present:</u> Juan P. Rodriguez, Civil Rights Officer; Leeset Torres, Associate Equal Opportunity Analyst; Naudia Velarde, Associate Equal Opportunity Analyst; Ruby Jacinto, Administrative Secretary-Confidential; and Ellen Lyons, Deputy County Counsel

- 2. <u>Public Comment:</u> None
- 3. <u>Action Item: Review and Approve Minutes of October 21, 2020</u> Commissioner Matthews made a motion to approve the Minutes of October 21, 2020; seconded by Commissioner Crawley; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Ybarra, Claypool, Crawley, Holm, Gonzales, Matthews, Monroe, and Barrera NOES: None ABSENT: Bigham, Fritsche, Bogan, and Gamotan ABSTAIN: None

- <u>Discuss Nomination and Election of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson for Calendar Year</u> <u>2021 – Chairperson Ybarra</u> Commissioner Ybarra expressed interest as serving as Chairperson and Commissioner Matthews expressed interest to serve as Vice-Chairperson for Calendar Year 2021.
- 5. <u>Action Item: Nomination and Election of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson for Calendar Year 2021 Chairperson Ybarra</u> Commissioner Holm made a motion to appoint Commissioner Ybarra to serve as Chairperson, and to appoint Commissioner Matthews to serve as Vice-Chairperson; seconded by Commissioner Claypool; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Ybarra, Claypool, Crawley, Holm, Gonzales, Matthews, Monroe, and Barrera NOES: None ABSENT: Bigham, Fritsche, Bogan, and Gamotan ABSTAIN: None

6. <u>Action Item: Review, Discuss, and Approve the 2021 Meeting Schedule – Chairperson Ybarra</u> The Commission reviewed and approved the 2021 Meeting Schedule.

Commissioner Claypool made a motion to approve the 2021 Meeting Schedule; seconded by Commissioner Holm; motion passed by the following vote:

AYES: Ybarra, Claypool, Crawley, Holm, Gonzales, Matthews, Monroe, and Barrera

7. <u>Department Head's Equal Opportunity Plan Presentation – Mary Zeeb, Treasurer-Tax</u> <u>Collector</u>

Mary Zeeb, Treasurer-Tax Collector, presented the Department's 2020 Equal Opportunity Plan.

- 8. <u>Department Head's Equal Opportunity Plan Presentation Rupa Shah, Auditor-Controller</u> Rupa Shah, Auditor-Controller, and Nairi Davis, Senior Human Resources Analyst, presented the Department's 2020 Equal Opportunity Plan.
- 9. <u>Receive a Report from the Civil Rights Office Regarding Status of Department</u> <u>Equal Opportunity Plan Submission and Presentations –Civil Rights Office Staff</u> Naudia Velarde, Associate Equal Opportunity Analyst, provided a verbal update on the status of EO Plans and presentations.
- Action Item: Discuss and Approve Action for Compliance with the County's Equal Opportunity Plan – Chairperson Ybarra The Commission discussed and provided feedback on options for EOP compliance.

Civil Rights Office will prepare a draft of the options discussed and present it to the Commission on December 18, 2020 for approval.

- 11. Announcements
 - Grand Opening of Sand City Community Center
 - Vacancies for the Commission on the Status of Woman Chairperson Ybarra
- 12. Future Agenda Items
 - Brown Act Training
 - Discuss and Approve Possible Date and Agenda Items for Special Retreat

Date of time of Next Meeting December 16, 2020, at 3:30 p.m.

13. <u>Adjournment</u> The meeting adjourned at 5:15 p.m.