Monterey County

City Selection Committee Government Center - Board Chambers 168 W. Alisal St., 1st Flr Salinas, CA 93901 Cities please post at your location



Action Minutes - Draft

Friday, July 24, 2020 1:00 PM

City Selection Committee

Chair Mayor lan Oglesby (Seaside) Vice-Chair Mayor Lance Walker (Greenfield) Mayor Clyde Roberson (Monterey) Mayor Kimbley Craig (Salinas) Mayor Bruce Delgado (Marina) Mayor Alison Kerr (Del Rey Oaks) Mayor Mike LeBarre (City of King)

Mayor Jose L. Rios (Gonzales) Mayor Anna M. Velazquez (Soledad) Mayor Dave Potter (Carmel) Mayor Bill Peake (Pacific Grove) Mayor Mary Ann Carbone (Sand City)

Called to Order

The meeting was called to order by Chair Mayor lan Oglesby.

Roll Called

Present: 11 - Mayor Lance Walker (Greenfield), Mayor Ian Oglesby (Seaside), Mayor Christine Croomenes(Salinas), Mayor Alison Kerr (Del Rey Oaks), Mayor Maria Orozco (Gonzales), Mayor Clyde Roberson (Monterey), Mayor Dave Potter (Carmel), Mayor Bill Peake (Pacific Grove), Mayor Mary Ann Carbone (Sand City) and Mayor Mike Lebarre (King City) who all appeared via video conference.

Absent: 1 - Mayor Fred Ledesma (Soledad)

Staff Present

Charles McKee, County Administrative Officer via Zoom, Valerie Ralph, Clerk of the Board and Joel Pablo, Board Clerk who appeared in person.

Public Comment

Open for public general public comments; no public comments were made.

Committee Matters:

1.

Minutes: Review and approve the meeting Minutes of Friday, January 3, 2020.

Open for public comments; no public comments made.

A motion was made by Mayor Dave Potter, seconded by Mayor Alison Kerr to: Approve the meeting minutes of January 3, 2020.

AYES: Mayor Walker, Mayor Oglesby, Mayor Croomenes, Mayor Kerr, Mayor Orozco, Mayor Roberson, Mayor Peake, Mayor Carbone, Mayor LeBarre, Mayor Delgado and Mayor Potter

NOES: None

ABSENT: Mayor Ledesma

ABSTAIN: None

Appointments:

2. Central Coast Housing Working Group: Appoint one (1) city representative to an unexpired term serving at the pleasure of the City Selection Committee to the Central Coast Housing Working Group; the city representative must represent one larger city in the county.

Open for public comments; no public comments made.

A motion was made by Mayor Bruce Delgado, seconded by Mayor Alison Kerr to: Appoint Mayor lan Oglesby (Seaside) to an unexpired term serving at the pleasure of the City Selection Committee to the Central Coast Housing Working Group; the city representative must represent one larger city in the county.

AYES: Mayor Walker, Mayor Oglesby, Mayor Croomenes, Mayor Kerr, Mayor Orozco, Mayor Roberson, Mayor Peake, Mayor Carbone, Mayor LeBarre, Mayor Delgado and Mayor Potter

NOES: None

ABSENT: Mayor Ledesma

ABSTAIN: None

3. Local Agency Formation Commission (Alternate City Member): Approval of appointment of one (1) mayor to the subject Commission to a term ending May 1, 2023. (Mayor Maria Orozco, City of Gonzales, term ended May 1, 2020.)

Open for public comments; no public comments made.

A motion was made by Mayor Lance Walker, seconded by Mayor Mike LeBarre to: Appoint Mayor Maria Orozco (Gonzales) as the Alternate member to the subject Commission to a term ending May 1, 2023.

AYES: Mayor Walker, Mayor Oglesby, Mayor Croomenes, Mayor Kerr, Mayor Orozco, Mayor Roberson, Mayor Peake, Mayor Carbone, Mayor LeBarre, Mayor Delgado and Mayor Potter

NOES: None

ABSENT: Mayor Ledesma

ABSTAIN: None

4. Local Agency Formation Commission (Regular City Member): Approval of appointment of one (1) mayor or council member to the subject Commission to an unexpired term ending May 6, 2023 (appointment will fill the term to expire on May 6, 2023 of Mayor Joseph Gunter, Salinas).

Open for public comments; no public comments made.

A motion was made by Mayor Dave Potter, seconded by Mayor Mike LeBarre to: Appoint Mayor Christine Croomenes (Salinas) as the Regular member to the subject Commission to a term ending May 1, 2023.

AYES: Mayor Walker, Mayor Oglesby, Mayor Croomenes, Mayor Kerr, Mayor Orozco, Mayor Roberson, Mayor Peake, Mayor Carbone, Mayor LeBarre, Mayor Delgado and Mayor Potter

NOES: None

ABSENT: Mayor Ledesma

ABSTAIN: None

5. Monterey County Airport Land Use Commission: Approval of appointment of one (1) city representative to the subject Commission to an expired term ending May 1, 2023 (appointment will fill the term to expire on May 1, 2023 of Mayor Joseph Gunter, Salinas).

Open for public comments; no public comments made.

A motion was made by Mayor Alison Kerr, seconded by Mayor Lance Walker to: Appoint Mayor Christine Croomenes (Salinas) to the subject Commission to an expired term ending May 1, 2023.

AYES: Mayor Walker, Mayor Oglesby, Mayor Croomenes, Mayor Kerr, Mayor Orozco, Mayor Roberson, Mayor Peake, Mayor Carbone, Mayor LeBarre, Mayor Delgado and Mayor Potter

NOES: None

ABSENT: Mayor Ledesma

ABSTAIN: None

6. Salinas Valley Basin Groundwater Sustainability Agency Board of Directors: The cities of Gonzales, Soledad and King to determine which city will appoint a Primary and Alternate Director to serve a two-year term on the Permanent Board of Directors of the Salinas Valley Basin Groundwater Sustainability Agency, said term to commence on the date of the Board's meeting in July 24, 2020. (Previous terms expired June 30, 2019)

Open for public comments; no public comments made.

A motion was made by Mayor Maria Orozco, seconded by Mayor Lance Walker to: Appoint Steve Adams (King City) as Primary Director and Renee Mendez as Alternate (Gonzales) Director to serve a two-year term on the Permanent Board of Directors of the Salinas Valley Basin Groundwater Sustainability Agency, said term to commence on the date of the Board's meeting in July 24, 2020, ending on June 30, 2022.

AYES: Mayor Walker, Mayor Orozco and Mayor LeBarre,

NOES: None

ATTEST:

ABSENT: Mayor Ledesma

ABSTAIN: None

Appointment Roster Reference

7. City Selection Committee - Appointment Roster as of July 20, 2020

Order for Adjournment

The same a 41 as as		-4 0.40	bee Chain lan	0-16
i ne meetina	was adjourned	at 2:16 b.m.	DV Chair ian	i Odiesby.

APPROVED:

IAN OGLESBY, CHAIR
CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE

BY:
VALERIE RALPH
CLERK OF THE BOARD
APPROVED ON