County of Monterey

Monterey County Planning Commission

Monterey County Government Center - Cayenne Conference Room

1441 Schilling Place, 1st Floor

Salinas, CA 93901



Meeting Minutes - Final

Special Meeting

Wednesday, July 24, 2019 9:00 AM

Monterey County Planning Commission

9:00 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chair Getzelman at 9:00 a.m.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Commissioner Monsalve.

ROLL CALL

Present:

Martha Diehl

Paul C. Getzelman

Ernesto G. Gonzalez

Rich Coffelt

Etna Monsalve

Amy Roberts

Francisco Javier Mendoza

Keith Vandevere

Absent:

Ana Ambriz

Melissa Duflock

PUBLIC COMMENTS

None.

AGENDA ADDITIONS, DELETIONS AND CORRECTIONS

Commission Clerk Melissa McDougal informed the Commission of multiple letters from the public that were distributed through email and more distributed on the dais that were just handed in for the STR item.

COMMISSIONER COMMENTS, REQUESTS AND REFERRALS

None.

9:00 A.M. - SCHEDULED MATTERS

1. Public hearing to consider making recommendations to the Board of Supervisors for vacation (short-term) rental regulations.

Project: REF100042/REF130043 SHORT-TERM RENTAL ORDINANCES

Proposed CEQA Action: To be determined based on final draft ordinances

For the record, Commissioner Ambriz has joined the Commission.

Presenter: Melanie Beretti, Special Programs Manager

Public Comment: David Stibers, Mary Wright, Kirk Gaffel, Janet Hardesty, Tim Green, Anna Russell, Jack Galante, Steve Beck, Barbara Sexton, Bill

Ostradick on behalf of Bill Conners, Thyme Lewis, Joel C.H., Adrienne Berry, Kevin Krehbiel, Mary Brinton, Lynda Marin, Annee Martin, Richard Matthews, Jacei Rustigan, Kyle Morrison, Bruce Britton, Shelley Parks

The Commission recessed for a break at 10:35 a.m. and reconvened at 10:45 a.m.

Public Comment continued: Terry Ryan, Gary Bjorklund, Pris Walton, Jeffrey Wood, Eric Sand, Rick Manning, Paola Berthoin, Dr. Kay Austen, Glen Berry, Gwyn De Amaral on behalf of Kelly Williams, Lorraine Oshea, Larry Daniels, Cheryl Thompson, John Borelli, Michelle Always, David Smiley, Karolyn Stone, Dean Hatfield, Colleen Carroll, Dan Clark, Amy White, Rick Aldinger, Lucas Wehner, Guillermo Ortiz, Bruce Smith.

The Commission recessed for lunch at 12:00 p.m. and resumed at 12:30 p.m.

Roll call after break: All Commissioners present.

The Commission recessed for a break at 3:00 p.m. and resumed at 3:10 p.m.

Rollcall after break: All Commissioners present except for Commissioner Mendoza.

It was moved by Commissioner Vandervere, seconded by Commissioner Diehl by the following vote to continue this project to a date uncertain.

AYES: Getzelman, Roberts, Diehl, Gonzalez, Coffelt, Monsalve, Ambriz,

Vandvere

NOES: None

ABSENT: Duflock, Mendoza

ABSTAIN: None

OTHER MATTERS

2. Appoint John Borelli to the Carmel Unincorporated/Highlands Land Use Advisory Committee.

Commissioner Diehl nominated to appoint John Borelli to the Carmel Unincorporated/Highlands Land Use Advisory Committee, seconded by Commissioner Vandervere.

AYES: Getzelman, Roberts, Diehl, Gonzalez, Coffelt, Monsalve, Ambriz,

Vandvere

NOES: None

ABSENT: Duflock, Mendoza

ABSTAIN: None

DEPARTMENT REPORT

None.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:16 p.m. by Chair Getzelman.

APPROVED:

/S/ BRANDON SWANSON

BRANDON SWANSON

PLANNING COMMISSION SECRETARY

ATTEST:

BY: Melissa McDougal

MELISSA MCDOUGAL

PLANNING COMMISSION CLERK

APPROVED ON 10/13/2021