County of Monterey

Monterey County Planning Commission Monterey County Government Center - Cayenne Conference Room 1441 Schilling Place, 1st Floor Salinas, CA 93901



Meeting Minutes - Final

Wednesday, January 27, 2021

9:00 AM

Monterey County Planning Commission

Etna Monsalve, Chair Martha Diehl, Vice Chair Craig Spencer, Secretary

9:00 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chair Roberts at 9:00 a.m.

This meeting was conducted via teleconference using Zoom

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by County Counsel Wendy Strimling

ROLL CALL

Present: Amy Roberts Martha Diehl Rich Coffelt Paul C. Getzelman Francisco Javier Mendoza Etna Monsalve Katharine Daniels Melissa Duflock Ana Ambriz Ernesto G. Gonzalez

Absent:

Secretary Craig Spencer went over the procedures for the zoom hearing.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

None

AGENDA ADDITIONS, DELETIONS AND CORRECTIONS

Commission Clerk Sophia Magana informed the Commission of additional correspondence received from the public for Agenda Item No. 1 2020 General Plan Annual Report

COMMISSIONER COMMENTS, REQUESTS AND REFERRALS

None

9:00 A.M. – SCHEDULED MATTERS

- a. Consider the 2020 draft Annual Progress Report for the 1982 General Plan (coastal) and 2010 Monterey County General Plan (non-coastal);
 - b. Consider the 2020 draft Annual Progress Report for the 2015-2023 Housing Element;
 - c. Consider a draft 5-Year General Plan Implementation Work Program, including 2021 Long Range Planning and General Plan Implementation Priority Tasks; and
 - d. Make a recommendation to the Board of Supervisors.
 - **Proposed CEQA Action:** Not a project per Sections 15060(c)(1) and 15378(b)(4) of the CEQA Guidelines.

John Dugan, HCD Management Specialist presented this item.

Public Comment: Dale Ellis, Bob Roach

It was moved by Commissioner Daniels, seconded by Commissioner Gonzales to continue this item to the date certain, February 24, 2021 to provide additional information on how the priorities lined in the 2010 General Plan compared to this work program.

AYES:Ambriz, Coffelt, Duflock, Diehl, Monsalve, Getzelman, Gonzales,
Mendoza, Daniels, Roberts
NOES:NoneNOES:NoneABSENT:NoneABSTAIN:None

2. MONTEREY COUNTY PLANNING COMMISSION

Planning Commission Nomination Committee presents nomination to elect for 2021 Chair and Vice Chair.

Planning Commission Nomination Committee presents nomination to elect for 2021 Chair and Vice Chair.

Commissioner Getzelman with a second by Commissioner Monsalve moves to elect Ana Ambriz as Chairman and Melissa Duflock as Vice Chair. Motion passes with the following vote:

AYES: Ambriz, Coffelt, Duflock, Diehl, Monsalve, Getzelman, Gonzales,

Mendoza, Daniels, Roberts NOES: None ABSENT: None ABSTAIN: None

12 OTHER MATTERS

None

DEPARTMENT REPORT

None

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 10:20 a.m. by Chair Roberts

APPROVED:

/S/ ERIK LUNDQUIST

ERIK LUNDQUIST PLANNING COMMISSION SECRETARY

ATTEST:

BY: *Sophía Magana* SOPHIA MAGANA PLANNING COMMISSION CLERK

APPROVED ON 05/26/2021