

County of Monterey

Board of Supervisors

Luis A. Alejo, District 1 Glenn Church, District 2 Chris M. Lopez, Chair, District 3 Wendy Root Askew, Vice Chair, District 4 Kate Daniels, District 5 Clerk of the Board 168 West Alisal St. 1st Floor Salinas, CA 93901 831 755 5066 cob@co.monterey.ca.us

April 29, 2025

The Honorable Chris Rogers California State Assembly 1021 O Street, Suite 5130 Sacramento, CA 95814

Re: AB 1014 (Rogers) Traffic safety: speed limits - SUPPORT

Dear Assemblymember Rogers:

On behalf of the County of Monterey, we support AB 1014. Existing law sets default speed limits for highways and the Department of Transportation must adjust these limits to the nearest 5 miles per hour based on the 85th percentile of traffic speed.

Local authorities can lower speed limits if the current limit is deemed too high for safety or specific conditions, such as designating a highway section as a "safety corridor." This bill would allow the Department of Transportation to similarly lower or keep speed limits under specific circumstances and introduces additional criteria for defining "safety corridor." It permits further reductions of 5 miles per hour for safety concerns, such as safe pedestrian crossings. Additionally, the bill allows setting a 25- or 20-mile-per-hour speed limit on non-freeway highways. As for enforcement, the bill mandates that any peace officer, instead of just the local authority, must issue warning citations for the first 30 days of a new lower speed limit.

The bill benefits counties by providing increased flexibility in setting speed limits, enhancing safety measures, and improving enforcement and public awareness. Lower speed limits can reduce accidents and fatalities, especially in areas with pedestrians or cyclists.

For these reasons, we support AB 1014. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact Monterey County's Public Policy Advisor, Ashley Walker of Nossaman LLP, at 916-442-8888.

Sincerely,

DRAFT

Chris M. Lopez, Chair Board of Supervisors

cc: The Honorable John Laird, 17th Senate District
The Honorable Robert Rivas, 29th Assembly District
The Honorable Dawn Addis, 30th Assembly District
California State Association of Counties (CSAC)
Rural County Representatives of California (RCRC)
Members and Consultants, Assembly Transportation Committee
Members and Consultants, Assembly Appropriations Committee



WWW.CO.MONTEREY.CA.US