County of Monterey

Pacific Grove - Meals on Wheels 700 Jewel Avenue Pacific Grove, CA 93950



Meeting Minutes - Draft

Friday, January 5, 2024

12:00 PM

City Selection Committee

Mayor Ian Oglesby (Seaside) Mayor Robert White (Greenfield) Mayor Kimbley Craig (Salinas) Mayor Bruce Delgado (Marina) Mayor Scott Donaldson (Del Rey Oaks) Mayor Mike LeBarre (City of King) Mayor Jose L. Rios (Gonzales) Mayor Tyller Williamson (Monterey) Mayor Anna M. Velazquez (Soledad) Mayor Dave Potter (Carmel) Mayor Bill Peake (Pacific Grove) Mayor Mary Ann Carbone (Sand City)

Called to Order

The meeting was called to order by Vice Chair Mayor Tyller Willamson.

Roll Called

Present: 10 - Mayor Ian Oglesby (Seaside), Mayor Robert White (Greenfield), Mayor Tyller Williamson (Monterey), Mayor Bruce Delgado (Marina), Mayor Scott Donaldson (Del Rey Oaks), Mayor Mike Lebarre (King City), Mayor Mary Ann Carbone (Sand City), Mayor Jose L. Rios, Mayor Bill Peake (Pacific Grove) and Mayor Dave Potter (Carmel)

Absent: 2 - Mayor Anna M. Velazquez (Soledad) and Mayor Kimbley Craig (Salinas)

Staff Present

Valerie Ralph, Clerk of the Board and Margarita Hernandez, Board Clerk were present.

Additions and Corrections

There were no additions and corrections for today's agenda.

General Public Comments

Open for general public comments for items not on the agenda; no comments made.

Committee Matters:

1.

Review and approve DRAFT CSC meeting Minutes of January 6, 2023 and March 3, 2023.

Open for public comments; no public comments made.

A motion was made by Mayor Dave Potter, seconded by Mayor lan Oglesby to: Approve the meeting minutes of January 6, 2023 and March 3, 2023.

AYES: Mayor Ian Oglesby, Mayor Robert White, Mayor Tyller Williamson, Mayor Bruce Delgado, Mayor Scott Donaldson, Mayor Mike Lebarre, Mayor Mary Ann Carbone, Mayor Jose L. Rios, Mayor Bill Peake and Mayor Dave Potter NOES: None ABSENT: Mayor Velazquez and Mayor Craig ABSTAIN: None

2. Nominate and elect members of the City Selection Committee to serve as 2024 Chair and Vice Chair for a one-year term (CY 2024) or until a successor is elected.

Open for public comments; no public comments made.

A motion was made by Mayor Bruce Delgado, seconded by Mayor Mike LeBarre to: Nominate Mayor Tyller Williamson to serve as 2024 Chair for a one year term (CY) or until a successor is elected. AYES: Mayor Ian Oglesby, Mayor Robert White, Mayor Tyller Williamson, Mayor Bruce Delgado, Mayor Scott Donaldson, Mayor Mike Lebarre, Mayor Mary Ann Carbone, Mayor Jose L. Rios, Mayor Bill Peake and Mayor Dave Potter NOES: None ABSENT: Mayor Velazquez and Mayor Craig ABSTAIN: None

A motion was made by Mayor Mike LeBarre, seconded by Mayor Jose L. Rios to: Nominate Mayor Robert White to serve as 2024 Vice Chair for a one year term (CY) or until a successor is elected.

AYES: Mayor Ian Oglesby, Mayor Robert White, Mayor Tyller Williamson, Mayor Bruce Delgado, Mayor Scott Donaldson, Mayor Mike Lebarre, Mayor Mary Ann Carbone, Mayor Jose L. Rios, Mayor Bill Peake and Mayor Dave Potter NOES: None ABSENT: Mayor Velazquez and Mayor Craig ABSTAIN: None

Consider Appointee due to Term Expiration, Vacancy or other action related

3. Monterey Bay Air Resources District:

a. Appoint One (1) mayor representing **Monterey Peninsula** appointed by the City Selection Committee for a term ending December 31, 2025.

Mayor Mary Ann Carbone appointed January 7, 2022 - Term end January 8, 2024; Sand City

VOTE BY THE FOLLOWING MONTEREY PENINSULA CITIES:

Monterey Carmel By the Sea Pacific Grove Del Rey Oaks Seaside Marina Sand City

The governing board shall reflect, to the extent feasible and practicable, the geographic diversity of the district and the variation of population between the cities in the district.

Open for public comments; no public comments made.

A motion was made by Mayor Scott Donaldson, seconded by Mayor Ian Oglesby to: Appoint Mayor Mary Ann Carbone to the Monterey Bay Air Resources District representing the Monterey Peninsula for a term ending December 31, 2025.

AYES: Mayor Ian Oglesby, Mayor Tyller Williamson, Mayor Bruce Delgado, Mayor Scott Donaldson, Mayor Mary Ann Carbone, Mayor Dave Potter, and Mayor Bill Peake NOES: None ABSENT: None ABSTAIN: None

4. Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO):

Appoint One (1) mayor or council member to the subject Commission to a term ending May 1, 2028.

Alternate Mayor Anna M. Velazquez currently appointed; Soledad

New term would be effective: May 7, 2024 to May 1, 2028

VOTE BY THE FOLLOWING CITIES (All):

Salinas	Greenfield
Seaside	King City
Marina	Soledad
Del Rey Oaks	Gonzales
Sand City	Carmel
Monterey	Pacific Grove

Pursuant to Government Code Sections 56325 (b) and 56335, the City Selection Committee is encouraged to select members to fairly represent the diversity of the cities in the county, with respect to population and geography.

Open for public comment; no comments made.

A motion was made by Mayor Ian Oglesby, seconded by Mayor Bruce Delgado to: Appoint Mayor Anna M. Velazquez to the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) for a term effective May 7, 2024 through May 1, 2028.

AYES: Mayor Robert White, Mayor Scott Donaldson, Mayor Mike Lebarre, Mayor Mary Ann Carbone, Mayor Jose L. Rios, , Mayor Bill Peake, Mayor Dave Potter, Mayor Ian Oglesby, Mayor Tyller Williamson, Mayor Bruce Delgado NOES: None ABSENT: Mayor Velazquez and Mayor Craig ABSTAIN: None

Annual Review of Appointments

5. In January an annual review of all committees' active/existing appointments with terms and serving at the pleasure of the City Selection Committee will be considered for changes in its appointed members. Consideration shall be given for automatic and regional rotations of an alternate member being seated as a primary member.

City representatives may put forth their interest at the beginning of December the year prior to the Chair

and Secretary of the City Selection Committee in other committees they may wish to be considered for. If there is no interest in changes in appointments annual review will not need to occur.

This review does not apply to newly appointed members in January.

An annual review of the appointments was had:

A motion was made by Mayor Mike LeBarre, seconded by Mayor Dave Potter to: Nominate Mayor Tyller Williamson to replace Mayor Scott Donaldson to the subject commission for consideration of appointment to the Community Restorative Justice Commission by the Board of Supervisors for a term ending October 26, 2026.

AYES: Mayor Ian Oglesby, Mayor Robert White, Mayor Tyller Williamson, Mayor Bruce Delgado, Mayor Scott Donaldson, Mayor Mike Lebarre, Mayor Mary Ann Carbone, Mayor Jose L. Rios, Mayor Bill Peake and Mayor Dave Potter NOES: None ABSENT: Mayor Velazquez and Mayor Craig ABSTAIN: None

A motion was made by Mayor Tyller Williamson, seconded by Mayor Mary Ann Carbone to: Appoint Mayor Scott Donaldson to replace Mayor Tyller Williamson to the Monterey County Airport Land Use Commission for a term ending May 3, 2027.

AYES: Mayor Ian Oglesby, Mayor Robert White, Mayor Tyller Williamson, Mayor Bruce Delgado, Mayor Scott Donaldson, Mayor Mike Lebarre, Mayor Mary Ann Carbone, Mayor Jose L. Rios, Mayor Bill Peake and Mayor Dave Potter NOES: None ABSENT: Mayor Velazquez and Mayor Craig ABSTAIN: None

Adjourned

The meeting was adjourned at 12:24 p.m. by Chair Mayor Tyller Williamson.

ADDENDA

6. For Item No. 4 Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) A new letter has been attached to the file from LAFCO